To Our Norwood Junior Football Club Families,

As the home and away season draws to an end, we begin to plan for the Awards and Presentation component of the season. A key element of that evening includes the recognition of individuals within our club that have made strong contributions and meet the criteria of our Awards program.  As a member of the NJFC, you are invited to submit worthy nominees for each of the below award categories.

An outline of the awards for considerations are as follows:

George Wintle Award
With the passing of George Wintle in 1989, the Norwood Football Club and especially the Junior Club lost one of its most loyal and avid supporters. George began his association with our Club in 1979 and besides his other great love “Collingwood”; his work at Norwood was a labor of love.  He held positions such as committee member, coach, team manager, boundary umpire, goal umpire, barman, and too many others to mention – his ability to communicate with people of all ages was just another special part of the man. The George Wintle Perpetual Trophy honours the memory of George, his efforts and the dedication of individuals to the prosperity of the Norwood Junior Football Club.

This is awarded to a person with extended tenure within the club and is based on an individual’s overall contribution to the NJFC over an extended period of involvement at the Junior Club.

Best Clubperson
Is presented annually to the person or persons who are perceived to have made the greatest contribution to the enrichment of the Norwood Junior Football Club.

Awarded to the individual who has made the strongest contribution to the NJFC across the current year.

Dale May Award
The “Presidents Award” was introduced in 1993 at the request of past President Ron Beard and his wife Vicki, to honour a player who, over an extended period of time has provided an example to others of dedication to our club, but more importantly, has met the ideals of sportsmanship and mateship encouraged from all players at Norwood.

In effect, it is a “Junior Best Clubman Award”, and is nominated by the current President.  This is a perpetual award and a shield has been struck to commemorate the winners. Previously known as the “Lee Pagram Memorial Trophy”, in honour of the late son of Past President Kevin Pagram.  The award has been renamed the “Dale May Memorial Trophy” in honour of our former player who tragically passed away in 2014.  Dale was a 100 game and Premiership Player of the Norwood Junior Football Club, who went on to play with the Senior Club.

Awarded to an upper age junior player based on their contribution to Norwood and/or the community.

To submit your nominations please email Wayne Knight or Brad O’Brien with the award name, your nominee and the rationale for your nomination. Post close off, all nominees will be submitted to the NJFC Executive Committee for consideration.

Please note all award nominations must be received by 5.00pm  Friday 9th August 2019.